Mathieu van der Poel Wins Stage 2 of Tour de France and Takes the Yellow Jersey

Mathieu van der Poel wins Stage 2 of Tour de France and takes the yellow jersey

​​​​​​​As a sponsor of Alpecin-FENIX cycling team, we are thrilled and celebrate Mathieu van der Poel’s first ever win at Tour de France. ​​​​​​​The team captain won Stage 2 after an impressive onslaught at Mûr-de-Bretagne, which also awarded him the coveted yellow jersey.

Tour de France is an annual men's multiple-stage bicycle race primarily held in France, while also occasionally passing through nearby countries. The race was first organized in 1903 and participation expanded from a primarily French field as more riders from all over the world began to participate in the race each year. The Tour is a UCI World Tour event, which means that the teams that compete in the race are mostly UCI WorldTeams, and it has become "the world's biggest annual sporting event."

“I imagine how (Poupou) he would be proud of me. It's a shame he's not here, but there's nothing we can do. I knew this was my last chance to take the yellow jersey, it's amazing,” said Van der Poel after finishing the race.

He dedicated this win to his grandfather, French cycling legend Raymond Poulidor, who participated 14 times at la Gran Boucle but never wore the yellow jersey.
The endurance and persistence of Van der Poel and Alpecin-FENIX team inspires us as a company. And the approach and set of values are why we align the FENIX brand with the cycling team. We are proud to support them.
To read more on Van der Poel’s win, please visit

What's FENIX?

Discover FENIX, the innovative materials for interior design created by Arpa Industriale for a range of vertical and horizontal interior design applications

Case Study

Never-ending design stories

New design stories. Innovative projects. High tech. Timeless.

FENIX Stories

FENIX application, articles, tips and more

You're using an unsupported browser and some features may not work properly. Please upgrade to a modern browser, such as Chrome, Edge, Firefox, or Safari.